Mentoring Committee

AWAC sees mentoring as a vital and exciting way to create impactful and equitable WAC projects across campuses. Because mentoring is a situated activity, this AWAC Committee is charged with facilitating opportunities for various WAC stakeholders. This includes, but is not limited to, providing larger learning opportunities for those interested in adopting WAC pedagogy (e.g., through the WAC Institute and virtual workshops), assisting with the partnership of graduate students with senior members of the community (e.g., through the WAC-GO mentoring initiative), pairing early career academics interested in research with mentors, and providing guidance for administrators interested in program development and assessment (e.g., through virtual workshops and the WAC Board of Consultants). This Committee will endeavor to think broadly so as to have the greatest reach, including identifying opportunities where we can enact positive WAC evolution/change.

Elected Committee Members

Amy Cicchino, Committee Co-chair, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Lindsay Clark, Committee Co-chair, Sam Houston State University

All Mentoring Committee Members

Amit Anshumali, University of Chicago
Sara Austin, AdventHealth University
Ming Fang, Florida International University
Pamela Flash, University of Minnesota
Jeffrey Galin, Florida Atlantic University
Lauren Garskie, Gannon University
Kimberly Harrison, Florida International University
Jason Hoppe
Joanna Johnson, University of Miami
Jacqueline Kauza, Indiana University East
Caitlin Martin, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Amy Mecklenburg-Faenger, Park University
Justin Nicholes, University of Wisconsin, Stout
Michele Zugnoni, Northwestern University

Meeting Notes

Access the 2021-2022 Committee Meeting Notes

Access the 2020-2021 Committee Meeting Notes