Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The goal of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee is to promote diversity within AWAC as well as across WAC more broadly.


  • Consider diversity, equity, and inclusion along the lines of: demographics/identity, institutional type, disciplinary backgrounds, institutional roles, language;
  • Keep all AWAC committees and efforts accountable on issues surrounding DEI;
  • Amplify voices that enrich conversations and inform decision-making explicitly through DEI lenses;
  • Be attentive of who the AWAC is for and the various (and variety of) stakeholders;
  • Identify challenges and strengths in achieving sustainable efforts to promote diversity within AWAC membership.


  • Identify what has been working so far to build or maintain DEI in the organization and the WAC/WID community;
  • Include explicitly in each committee’s annual report accountability of DEI efforts, especially in terms of how the DEI work is integrated as core than peripheral work;
  • Involve various (and a variety of) stakeholders in leadership and key support roles within in the conference;
  • Make language in the organization, community, conferences, journals more accessible to a wider audience and participants by removing or limiting jargon.

Committee Chairs

Sherri Craig
Stacey Sheriff


Al Harahap
Amit Anshumali
Min-Seok Choi
Cristyn L. Elder
Regina McManigell Grijalva
David Healey
Kathleen Turner Ledgerwood
Maureen Mathison
Debbie Olson
Sheryl Bone
Nicole Cunningham-Frisbey
Hany Zaky
Amanda Presswood
Lisa Tremain
Leslie Bruce
Myra Salcedo
Anthony Lince
Kelly Ellis
Sara Large
Jennifer Griffiths
Anna Kinney
Beth Lee
Galia Fussell
Daris McInnis
Anna Zendell
Amit Anshumali
Swan Kim