Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual Workshop: Toward an Asset-based Antiracist Approach to Writing Assessment

November 17 @ 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

This virtual event will be held on November 17th, 2021 from 2:00-3:30pm EST (1:00-2:30pm CST, 12:00–1:30pm MST, and 11:00am–12:30pm PST).

The speakers ask that everyone bring graded student writing with comments to participate in this interactive workshop.

If you are an AWAC member, register for the event by clicking here. Interested guests can review our individual and institutional membership options before registering. Registration will close Monday, November 15th at 5:00pm EST.

Our speakers are Shawanda J. Stewart and Stephanie M. Frausto from Huston-Tillotson University in Austin, Texas. In “How to Stop Harming Students: An Ecological Guide to Antiracist Writing Assessment,” Inoue and Poe identify seven interconnected, holistic components of a writing assessment ecology and encourage people to consider the histories and the ideologies that inform their writing assessment values. During this interactive workshop, they will work through determining these values. Please bring with you about 10 side/end comments made to student writing.

Shawanda Stewart is an Associate Professor of English at Huston-Tillotson University. Her primary research interests include African American rhetoric, language ideology and culture, and first-year composition pedagogy.

Stephanie M. Frausto is an English Adjunct Professor at Huston-Tillotson University. Her current research topics include antiracist assessment and student learning outcomes and objectives.

Questions? Please contact AWAC Mentoring Committee Co-Chairs Lindsay Clark (lclark@shsu.edu) and Amy Cicchino (atc0057@auburn.edu).

Toward an Asset based Antiracist Approach to Writing Assessment

Details

Date:
November 17
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Venue

Zoom
United States + Google Map

Details

Date:
November 17
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

Venue

Zoom
United States + Google Map